

TOWN OF POESTENKILL

38 Davis Drive / P.O. Box 210 Poestenkill, NY 12140 (518) 283-5100 Phone (518) 283-7550 Fax

PLANNING BOARD April 2, 2019 Minutes

Attendees: ZBA Attendees: Non-Voting: Tom Russell, Chairman Paul Jamison, Chairman Robert Ryan, Esq. Lynn Kane, Clerk Jeffrey Briggs Kevin McGrath William Daniel Tim Hoffay Susan Kalafut Judy Grattan **Absent:** Robert Dore Nicole Heckelman Steve Valente, Alternate Harvey Teal Michael Colello Don Heckelman

Chairman Russell called the meeting to order at 7:30 pm with the Pledge of Allegiance.

Presentations:

The Rensselaer County Ag & Farmland Protection Plan was presented by Donna Young and Linda von der Heide of Rensselaer County Economic, Development & Planning to the Members of the Planning Board, the Zoning Board of Appeals and Town Board Members June Butler and Harold Van Slyke. Ladies reviewed the various portions of Rensselaer County that are protected by this plan, the benefits for both the Town and agriculture residents, sighting the Wagner Farm located in Town. Booklets and brochures were distributed. Much interaction among the attendees.

Paul Barringer, Town Code Enforcement Officer presented up to date information on the NYS DEC Wetlands, the Army Corps of Engineers Flood Areas and the FEMA Flood insurance plans and the impact on the properties and residents in the Town. He also reviewed the required documentation that Applicants must provide with Building Department, Planning Board and Zoning Boards of Appeals applications and shared the scope of his review of the various applications in order to keep the Town in compliance with NYS and Federal regulations. Much discussion amongst those in attendance.

Minutes: Meeting minutes of December 4, 2018 were reviewed. Chairman Russell requests changes as follow: under Levesque, indicate in first paragraph "Applicant was not in attendance at ...", in second paragraph, page 3, line 5 "...that homeowners association could then..." and line 10 "permit" to "permitted". Motion to accept the Minutes with corrections was made by Board Member Heckelman, seconded by Board Member Dore and approved by a vote of seven (7) ayes; zero (0) nays and zero (0) abstentions.

Public Comment Period:

There being no comments from the public, the public comment period was closed.

Old Business:

Attorney Ryan reminded Board there was a lack of Annual Meeting due to cancelation and that the Board's Vice Chairman and Secretary needed to be selected. Current Vice Chairman Heckelman and Secretary Teal expressed interest in reappointment. Chairman Russell polled other Members for interest, there was none. Motion by Member Grattan, seconded by Member Daniel to reappoint Don Heckelman and Harvey Teal to their respective seats and was approved by a vote of seven (7) ayes, zero (0) nays, and zero (0) abstentions.

A motion to adjourn the meeting at 9:25 pm was made by Board Member Grattan, seconded by Chairman Russell and approved by a vote of seven (7) ayes, zero (0) nays, and zero (0) abstentions.

Respectfully submitted,

Lynn E. Kane, Planning Board Clerk